The best of the web

No, not an incredibly egotistical blog post, but a new challenge. Ruth Martin, who edits the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign’s Target MD magazine, has tasked me with pulling together the content for the new best of the web section.

I’m using this post to explore a few things that caught my eye and if Ruth likes the end results, you might see them in print early next year. But I better hurry, yesterday was the deadline!

Only now it dawns on me this is not that easy, I think a lot of what we do online is worthy of being in our mag, and if I have a byline (which I do, and will therefore start refering to ‘my column’ and make trumped claims of being ‘a columnist’) will people get upset if I don’t incdue them? They might…but I may also be a tad paranoid, but if it does come up I will refer to this blog to explain my rationale, because what I think is the best of the web is when people collaborate, share things and tell stories. So there we are, that’s my entry criteria for the best for the web.

Storytelling,  collaboration and sharing


Storytelling 

Now for the good bit, what can I include that our supprters are interested in. My first choice is Abbi’s Campaign – 1 in a million

I think the reasons are pretty obvious, a family sharing their story, to raise awareness of Ullrich congenital muscualr dystrophy and raise funds for a cause they believe in.

I met Abbi’s parents, Gary and Sarah, at our National Conference (here’s my conference blog). They came along to see my social media spiel and, since then, I’ve really enjoyed watching them grow their Facebook page and use it to promote their fundraising. Gary did a shark dive recently and raised a whopping £2,182. So they are my first candidate for the best of the web.

Collaboration

This week I published a new page on our website called Brad and Dan: Bloggers with Becker muscular dystrophy, what delighted me about this was I didn’t have any involvement in creating it whatsover. Brad tweeted about it and I thought our supporters might like it so it became a guest post, we did exactly the same thing with Martyn Sibley’s post last month, he wrote about a day in his life living with spinal muscular atrophy.

I’m keen to find more bloggers like these guys we can team up with, so if you see any send them my way.

Thanks again to Brad, Dan and Martyn for letting us use their stuff.

Sharing

After taking pride of place in the last Target MD, I wasn’t expecting to talk too much about our forum, Talk MD,  this time. But it burst back onto the scene via this Follow Friday tweet from Donna.

I thought it was a bit like a coffee shop , so I was delighted someone thought of our forum as their second home. The other people mentioned in the tweet are our forum modertors. You can find out more about what they do in this introduction to the forum on You Tube.

More sharing

If any of this caught your interest, you can check out what our team are up to on Twitter. I’m afraid that I’m so addicted to tweeting, that I somewhat dominate the Twitter list I set up.  So, for a more balanced view, here are a few highlights from our team on twitter on storify.

Conclusion

There is a lot to cover and with only four issues a year of Target MD, this means I’m going to have to leave a lot of stuff out. So what to include could be a pretty big decsion. So if there is something you want to see in the best of the web section of Target MD, please do let me know.

One question remains though, can my content for the magazine be submtted in the form of a blog? Is that allowed? Ruth?

About medavep
I work in the UK charity sector and sometimes I blog about fundraising, digital and consumer experience. Sometimes I just moan.

3 Responses to The best of the web

  1. Ruth Martin says:

    Go on then, dave! I think it’s a great idea … and fits into my goal to integrate online and offline communication in Target MD, just brilliantly.
    Ruth

  2. Pingback: Twitter fundraising in action – Listen, connect, thank! « medavep

Leave a Reply

